ask mattrab Visit www.askmattrab.com for more academic resources.

Essential and non-essential Amino acids

Amino acids are divided into two types i.e.

  1. Essential amino acids: These are the amino acids that human cannot synthesise. plant can synthesise all the amino acid required by them.so human have to take it from plant through diet. these amino acid are called essential amino acid.

  2. Non-Essential amino acid: They are the amino acid that human can synthesise from their body. So they need not to be included in the diet. Non-essential doesn't mean they aren't required for our body.

Some of the  essential and non essential amino acids:

Essential Amino Acids Non-Essential Amino Acids
1. Valine (Va) 1. Alanine (Al)
2. Leucine (Leu) 2. Glycine (Gly)
3. Isoleucine (ILe) 3. Asparagine (Asn)

4. Phenylalanine (Phe)

4. Proline (Pro)
5. Tryptophan (Trp) 5. Aspartic acid (Asp)
6. Lysine (Lys) 6. Serine (Ser)
7. Methionine (Met) 7. Cysteine (Cys)
8. Threonine (Thr) 8. Tyrosine (Tyr)

9. Glutamic acid (Glu)

10.  Glutamine (Gln)

11. Arginine

12. Histidine 

Arginine and Histidine are included in semi-essential amino acid as they are produced in our body but at a slow rate. But they are essential for children.

Close Open App